Skip to main content

Stefan Barnhusen: A Cosmopolitan Chef

With the redesign of the restaurants at the Hilton Munich Airport, Stefan Barnhusen was recruited as head chef for the fine dining restaurant. In the Mountain Hub Gourmet, he has been creating his incomparable menus with uncompromising perfection for the discerning guests of the metropolis around Munich Airport since the reopening in 2020. His success proves him right and in a very short time he and his team have managed to win a Michelin star.

In the “Mountain Hub” concept, Stefan Barnhusen’s cuisine embodies the quintessence that emerges from the internationality of the airport. Here, the airport becomes the centre for freshness and short distances. Because: where is the connection to ingredients from all over the world more given than here at the airport? Where does the freshest fish from the Atlantic Ocean land? Exactly here is the hub. Here, quality comes fresh from the sea directly into the kitchen – and here it is immediately interpreted and presented for discerning gourmets.

A top chef for the discerning city dweller

Born in Westphalia, Stefan Barnhusen’s professional path took him to southern Germany to Lake Tegernsee and the Black Forest at an early age. After “travelling” all over the world, he most recently made a name for himself in Hamburg as head chef at the Jellyfish. The best prerequisites for bringing the “Hub” concept right to the point: to the culinary “Peak”.

Capturing the taste of a product and developing it to its fullest is the basic idea behind the detailed plates of Stefan Barnhusen and his very young and dedicated team. “We stick together and all get involved.” This is also how Stefan Barnhusen overcomes the distance that often exists between kitchen and service. “We are a team, because that’s the only way communication between us and the guest succeeds.” With this cohesion, unforgettable dishes are created at the highest level and arranged on the plates with precise ease.

Cosmopolitan. Inclusion of worlds.

The journey for guests at the Mountain Hub Gourmet begins with a culinary introduction and takes them on an eventful, culinary tour in 7 courses all the way to the sweet summit – in a consistent composition of design, aroma, texture and palate experience precisely coordinated.

Seasonality and freshness are crucial for Stefan Barnhusen: “We only process food when it is at the peak of its quality. Then exactly what our intention is is on the plate.” In this way, he and his sous chef Marcel Tauschek also manage to adapt a menu in a very short time if the food from the selected producers can no longer or not yet be delivered at short notice.

“All that inspires me are the flavours and the protagonist’s own character on the plate.” Stefan Barnhusen’s signature is to bring out these unmistakably in each course and to find the components that correspond in taste. Consistent, unpretentious and very elegant. It seems like a game: condensing a taste, accompanying or confronting it with other nuances or textures. All dishes are perfectly integrated into the sophisticated design of his seasonal menu sequence, which always manages to keep the guest in anticipation of the next course.

With this principle, Stefan Barnhusen maintains his place among the chef elite: in 2018, he had defended the star at Jellyfish in Hamburg as executive chef. His | oyster | is legendary. In 2022 – despite all the circumstances of the last two years – now the star for the Mountain Hub Gourmet at the Hilton Munich Airport. Munich and the world can look forward to his interpretation.

Stefan Barnhusen

Chef at the Mountain Hub Gourmet

March 2022 Michelin Star | Mountain Hub Gourmet @ Hilton Munich Airport
Executive Chef | Mountain Hub Gourmet @ Hilton Munich Airport
March 2019 Chef of the Month | Feinschmecker
2018-2019 one star in the Guide Michelin | Chef at Jellyfish Hamburg
Sous Chef | Christoph Rainer at Luce d’Oro | Elmau
Sous Chef | Dieter Müller Restaurants | MS Europa
Sous Chef | Gästehaus Klaus Erfort | Saarbrücken
various positions in star restaurants, such as the Überfahrt, Bareiss and Landhaus Scherrer

Skip to main content

Stefan Barnhusen: A Cosmopolitan Chef

Mit der Umgestaltung der Restaurants im Hilton Munich Airport konnte Stefan Barnhusen als Küchenchef für das Fine Dining Restaurant gewonnen werden. Im Mountain Hub Gourmet kreiert er seit der Wiedereröffnung 2020 mit kompromissloser Perfektion seine unvergleichlichen Menüs für die anspruchsvollen Gäste der Metropole rund um den Flughafen München. Der Erfolg gibt ihm Recht und in kürzester Zeit haben er und sein Team es geschafft, einen Michelin Stern zu erkochen.

Im Konzept „Mountain Hub“ verkörpert die Küche von Stefan Barnhusen die Quintessenz, die sich aus der Internationalität des Flughafens herauskristallisiert. Der Flughafen wird hier das Zentrum für Frische und kurze Wege. Denn: wo ist die Anbindung zu den Zutaten aus der ganzen Welt mehr gegeben, als hier am Airport? Wo landet der fangfrischeste Fisch aus dem Atlantik? Genau hier ist die Drehscheibe. Hier kommt Qualität frisch vom Meer direkt in die Küche – und hier wird sie sofort für anspruchsvolle Genießer*innen interpretiert und präsentiert.

Ein Spitzenkoch für das anspruchsvolle Großstadtpublikum

Der berufliche Weg hat den gebürtigen Westfalen Stefan Barnhusen schon früh nach Süddeutschland an den Tegernsee und in den Schwarzwald geführt. Nach „Wanderjahren“ durch die ganze Welt hat er sich zuletzt in Hamburg, als Küchenchef des Jellyfish, einen Namen gemacht. Die besten Voraussetzungen, um das Konzept „Hub“ genau auf den Punkt zu bringen: auf den kulinarischen „Peak“.

Den Geschmack eines Produkts zu erfassen und bis zu seiner größten Entfaltung zu entwickeln, ist die Grundidee der detailreichen Teller von Stefan Barnhusen und seinem sehr jungen und engagierten Team. „Wir halten zusammen und bringen uns alle ein.“ So überwindet Stefan Barnhusen auch die Distanz, die oft zwischen Küche und Service besteht. „Wir sind ein Team, denn nur so gelingt die Kommunikation zwischen uns und dem Gast.“ Mit diesem Zusammenhalt werden unvergessliche Gerichte auf höchstem Niveau erarbeitet und mit präziser Leichtigkeit auf den Tellern arrangiert.

Cosmopolitan. Inklusion der Welten.

Die Reise für die Gäste des Mountain Hub Gourmet beginnt mit einer kulinarischen Einstimmung und nimmt sie in 7 Gängen mit auf eine erlebnisreiche, kulinarische Tour bis hin zum süßen Gipfel – in einer konsequenten Komposition von Design, Aroma, Textur und Gaumenerlebnis präzise aufeinander abgestimmt.

Die Saisonalität und Frische ist für Stefan Barnhusen entscheidend: „Wir verarbeiten Lebensmittel nur dann, wenn sie am Höhepunkt ihrer Qualität sind. Dann ist genau das auf dem Teller, was unserer Intention entspricht.“ So schaffen er und sein Sous-Chef Marcel Tauschek es auch, ein Menü in kürzester Zeit anzupassen, wenn die Lebensmittel von den ausgesuchten Produzenten kurzfristig nicht mehr oder noch nicht geliefert werden können.

„Alles, was mich inspiriert, sind die Aromen und der eigene Charakter des Protagonisten auf dem Teller.“ Diese in jedem Gang unverwechselbar herauszuarbeiten und dazu die geschmacklich korrespondierenden Komponenten zu finden, ist Stefan Barnhusens Handschrift. Konsequent, unprätentiös und sehr elegant. Es wirkt wie ein Spiel: das Verdichten eines Geschmacks, das Begleiten oder Konfrontieren mit anderen Nuancen oder Texturen. Alle Dishes sind perfekt eingebunden in das ausgefeilte Design seiner saisonalen Menü-Folge, die es schafft, den Gast immer in Vorfreude auf den nächsten Gang zu halten.

Mit diesem Grundsatz behauptet Stefan Barnhusen seinen Platz in der Chef-Elite: 2018 hatte er als Executive Chef den Stern im Jellyfish in Hamburg verteidigt. Seine | Auster | ist legendär. 2022 – trotz aller Umstände der letzten beiden Jahren – nun der Stern für das Mountain Hub Gourmet im Hilton Munich Airport. München und die Welt darf sich auf seine Interpretation freuen.

Stefan Barnhusen

Küchenchef im Mountain Hub Gourmet

März 2022 Michelin Stern | Mountain Hub Gourmet @ Hilton Munich Airport
Executive Chef | Mountain Hub Gourmet @ Hilton Munich Airport
März 2019 Koch des Monats | Feinschmecker
2018-2019 ein Stern im Guide Michelin | Küchenchef im Jellyfish Hamburg
Sous Chef | Christoph Rainer im Luce d’Oro | Elmau
Sous Chef | Dieter Müller Restaurants | MS Europa
Sous Chef | Gästehaus Klaus Erfort | Saarbrücken
diverse Positionen in Sternerestaurants, wie dem Überfahrt, Bareiss und Landhaus Scherrer